News and Updates

June 20, 2014 Board Support of PPT Ballot Proposal

Click the link below to read the Board's support of the August Primary Ballot Proposal #1 : Create Local Community Stabilization Authority to Replace Local Revenue Lost Related to Phase-out of Personal Property Tax.

June 20, 2014 Board Support of PPT Ballot Proposal

Spring Seminar Handouts

Spring Seminar handouts are available online.

Moody's Investors Service Article on Detroit Bankruptcy

Detroit Bankruptcy May Change How Other Distressed Cities Approach Their Pension and Debt Obligations. Full article here.

MGFOA Committee Membership

The MGFOA Board is accepting application for members to volunteer to serve on various Committees

This is your opportunity to get involved and grow with the organization by serving and contributing your knowledge to a committee.

Click here to complete the Committee Membership Application.

MI Department of Treasury Deficit Elimination Plan Requirements

Click here for the document.

Dashboard and Citizen Guide templates at Dept of Treasury

Follow this LINK.

Michigan Department of Treasury and EVIP Administration

Follow this LINK.

FREE: State of Michigan's Local Government Records Management training is now available online

Follow this link.

Membership Information

Membership Information

Board of Directors '13 - '14

Executive Director
Bob Hertel
President
Thomas Skrobola
Director of Management Services/CFO
Kalamazoo
269-337-8468
269-337-8448 fax
skrobolat@kalamazoocity.org
Board Assignment:
  • Policies, Bylaws and Ethics
VP / Secretary
Edward Sell Jr.
Finance Director
City of Monroe
734-384-9133
734-243-8683 fax
edward.sell@monroemi.gov
Board Assignment:
  • Professional Development Liason
Treasurer
Christa McLellan
Deputy Treasurer-Financial Services
Wayne County
313-224-0489
313-967-6393 fax
cmclella@co.wayne.mi.us
Board Assignment:
  • Mentoring/Membership Liaison
Immediate Past President
Karen Lancaster
Accounting Services Manager
City of Ann Arbor
734-794-6512
734-994-2777 fax
klancaster@a2gov.org
Board Assignment:
  • Nominations
  • Strategic Planning Liaison
Associate Director
Kari Blanchett
Public Financial Management, Inc.
734-994-9700
734-994-9710 fax
blanchettk@pfm.com
Associate Director
Beth Bialy
248-223-3377
248-603-5536 fax
beth.bialy@plantemoran.com
Board Member
Ed Bradford
231-398-2804
231-733-56410 fax
ebradford@manisteemi.gov
Board Member
Tom Darling
248-524-3330
248-524-0851 fax
t.darling@troymi.gov
Board Member
Jim Horsch
Director of Finance and Administration
State Bar of Michigan
517-346-6324
jhorsch@mail.michbar.org
Board Member
Tim Smith
Finance Director
City of Wyoming
616-530-3170
616-249-3468 fax
smitht@wyomingmi.gov