News and Updates

MGFOA Scholarship for Fall Institute

The Michigan Government Finance Officers Association is proud to announce a scholarship program to our membership.  The scholarship is available to members in good standing seeking financial aid to attend the Annual Fall Institute.  Scholarship awards of up to $500 are provided to help defray the cost of travel and registration.  Recipients are required to cover all travel expenses up front.  After the Fall Institute, recipients will submit a reimbursement request documenting transportation and hotel expenses.  The total amount of reimbursement is limited to the scholarship award less the cost of registration to the Fall Institute.

Applications are now being accepted and must be submitted to the Executive Director by July 1, 2014.

Please review the application for details.

Spring Seminar Handouts

Spring Seminar handouts are available online.

CPFIM and Advanced CPFIM Certification Programs

April 14-15 CPFIM Program – Ypsilanti
April 15-16 ACPFIM Program – Ypsilanti
April 17-18 CPFIM Program – Mackinaw City

Register by April 1, 2014 

The Michigan Municipal Treasurers Association is partnering with the Michigan Association of County Treasurers to bring the Certified Public Funds Investment Manager (CPFIM) certification program back to Michigan.  This nationally-recognized certification program was developed by the Association of Public Treasurers of the United States and Canada (APT US&C) and is in strong demand by public funds investment personnel across the country.  We’re also excited to announce that we will be offering the Advanced CPFIM program for the first time ever in Michigan!

The 8-hour CPFIM training will be offered in two locations:  April 14th at the Ann Arbor Marriott Ypsilanti at Eagle Crest in Ypsilanti; and April 17th at the Mackinaw Beach and Bay Inn and Suites in Mackinaw City.  The testing for each program will be the following mornings. 

The 4-hour Advanced CPFIM training is available for individuals who have already received the CPFIM certification and will be offered on the afternoon of April 15th at the Ann Arbor Marriott Ypsilanti at Eagle Crest in Ypsilanti; the testing will be the following morning.

The registration fees for each program are $180 for members of the APT US&C and $270 for non-members which will include a one-year membership with APT US&C.  (NOTE – If you are not currently a member of the APT US&C, DO NOT pay for membership prior to this event to get the lower registration rate.  Their regular membership fees are more than $90 so you’ll be paying more if you apply for membership with them before this event.)  The registration fees include the electronic study guide (you may preorder a hard copy for $11,) 8-hour or 4-hour training, testing, and a plaque if you successfully complete the program by passing the test.

Both of these programs qualify for CPE credits, CPFA credits and MiCPT credits.

Please see the brochure for additional information regarding the programs.  The CPFIM and Advanced CPFIM programs are not just for treasurers or finance directors and this event is not limited to MMTA or MACT members.  Please share the brochure with anyone in your organization or community who deals with investing public funds.

GFOA Conference Scholarships

First-time annual conference attendee scholarships.
Fifty scholarships will be awarded per state or province in the amount of the full-conference registration fee to first-time conference attendees who are national  GFOA active government members. For details and an application, e-mail

Moody's Investors Service Article on Detroit Bankruptcy

Detroit Bankruptcy May Change How Other Distressed Cities Approach Their Pension and Debt Obligations

Full article here.

MGFOA Committee Membership

The MGFOA Board is accepting application for members to volunteer to serve on various Committees

This is your opportunity to get involved and grow with the organization by serving and contributing your knowledge to a committee.

Click here to complete the Committee Membership Application.

MI Department of Treasury Deficit Elimination Plan Requirements

Click here for the document.

Dashboard and Citizen Guide templates at Dept of Treasury

Follow this LINK.

Michigan Department of Treasury and EVIP Administration

Follow this LINK.

FREE: State of Michigan's Local Government Records Management training is now available online

Follow this link.

Membership Information

Membership Information

Board of Directors '13 - '14

Executive Director
Jack Sato Smith
Thomas Skrobola
Director of Management Services/CFO
269-337-8448 fax
Board Assignment:
  • Policies, Bylaws and Ethics
VP / Secretary
Edward Sell Jr.
Finance Director
City of Monroe
734-243-8683 fax
Board Assignment:
  • Mentoring/Membership Liaison
  • Professional Development Liason
Christa McLellan
Deputy Treasurer-Financial Services
Wayne County
313-967-6393 fax
Immediate Past President
Karen Lancaster
Accounting Services Manager
City of Ann Arbor
734-994-2777 fax
Board Assignment:
  • Nominations
  • Strategic Planning Liaison
Associate Director
Kari Blanchett
Public Financial Management, Inc.
734-994-9710 fax
Associate Director
Beth Bialy
248-603-5536 fax
Board Member
Ed Bradford
231-733-56410 fax
Board Member
Tom Darling
248-524-0851 fax
Board Member
Jim Horsch
Director of Finance and Administration
State Bar of Michigan
Board Member
Tim Smith
Finance Director
City of Wyoming
616-249-3468 fax